Writing Down the Bones

Standard

This is what it is to be a writer: to be the carrier of details that make up history. – Natalie Goldberg

I am a perfectionist.  It’s hard for me to embark on anything not knowing if the outcome will be good.  As this translates to writing, I want to know that anything I put out into the world will be received well.  I want to know the thoughts I share will be thought provoking to someone.  I want to know the end from the beginning.  It’s a frustrating place to be, and I really need to get over it.

In my quest to know the end, I have a stack of books on writing that I want to read and work through.  First up is “Writing Down the Bones” by Natalie Goldberg.

Short chapters.  Strong advice.  Writing exercises.  My copy has been underlined, dog-eared, and littered with post-it notes.  Ms. Goldberg’s advice is invaluable, and has inspired me to work harder at the craft of writing.  I may want to sit down at my laptop and have a novel just pour from me, but me thinks it may not be so easy.  There is work in the creation of an enticing story, work that I am excited to take on.

Leave a Reply

