On Writing

Standard

Write what you like, then imbue it with life and make it unique by blending in your own personal knowledge of life, friendships, relationships, sex and work. – Stephen King

I have wanted to read Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’ since it was published, about 12 years ago.  I admire him as a writer and thought it would be cool to know about his writing habits and process.  He also writes about his car accident and gives an example of his first draft and editing process.

The most helpful thing to me was this; “all novels are really letters aimed at one person”.  King talks about his ideal reader, his wife Tabby.  How all of his novels are written to “wow her”.  She is his “supportive reader” and gives “unflinching” feedback when she thinks something is wrong.

This thought has stuck with me for a few weeks.  Who is my ideal reader?  Who is the one person that I want to “wow”?  And I wonder, until I figure that out, will my work be as good and clear as I’d like?

Leave a Reply

