Feelin’ Crafty

Standard

Is anyone else addicted to Pintrest?  It’s my go to app and website for wasting time getting ideas of things to do next.  I pinned this a couple of months ago.

Click on the picture to be taken to SewWoodsy.com for the original post and tutorial.

This looked fun, east and cheap.  Plus a trip to Target for supplies – just gets better and better.

The only decision that needed to be made was what to write on my shirt.  A quote?  Song lyrics?  Bible verse?  I decided to use the chorus from “Freckles” by Natasha Bedingfield.

’cause a face withouth freckles is like a sky without stars
why wasts a second not loving who you are
those little imperfections make you beautiful, loveable, valuable
they show your personality inside your heart
reflecting who you are

As you can see, by the time I got to the bottom of my shirt, the words at the top of the shirt were bleached through.  BUT, the tutorial said to let it sit for 30-45 minutes.  So I did.  What resulted for me was more of an illegible outline of words, and not the affect of the words being bleached out of the shirt.  So I improvised.

I took a sharpie in a contrasting color and wrote in the words, filling in the bleached outline.  Which I kinda love.

Next time:

  1. I’ll buy a darker color t-shirt.  I’m wondering if the light color contributed to the bleach bleeding through so quickly.
  2. I would like to try a shape or picture.
  3. Buy more white vinegar.  SewWoodsy, included a note from a reader to soak your shirt in vinegar after washing, so the bleach would not continue to eat through the shirt and create holes.  I did this, and it also gave my shirt a very soft vintage feel.

Definitely a fun craft that only takes about an hour (not counting wash/dry time).

Leave a Reply

