Cheesy Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Crispy Prosciutto and Candied Pecans

Standard

I bought a couple of sweet potatoes to use in a hummus recipe that I love, but for some reason I made a black bean hummus instead.  Leaving me to find a way to use these up before they went bad.  So after dinner last night, I texted the below to a friend…

Cheesy Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Crispy Prosciutto and Candied Pecans

Here’s what I did:

3 medium sweet potatoes – wrapped in foil and baked in a 425 degree oven for one hour

Let the sweet potatoes cool (still wrapped in foil) for 30ish minutes.  Unwrap and peel off the skin.

Place peeled sweet potatoes in a saucepan with:

  • 1/2 to 3/4cup milk
  • 3/4 shredded cheese  – I used Trader Joes Parmesan Romano/Asiago blend
  • Dash of sea salt, nutmeg and black pepper – a dash to me is about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of each.

I mashed these together with a potato masher and placed on low heat while my roast was cooking.

While this was heating, I cut some prosciutto into strips and cooked until crispy.

I also chopped up some Trader Joes candied pecans.

*****

When plating dinner, I put the prosciutto and pecans on top of the sweet potatoes.

Creamy, crispy, salty, sweet, cheesy goodness….

One response »

Leave a Reply

