What I’m NOT Reading

Standard

How do your reading habits go?  All in all the time?  Or, like me, in spurts where at times the words can’t seem to come fast enough and then other times, its torture to get through a few simple pages?  Right now, I’m stuck and can’t seem to get past the first 50 or 60 pages of any book.

I started “The Odds” by Stewart O’Nan awhile ago.  About a couple whose marriage is ending, and they are taking one last hurrah together, he hopeful, she appeasing.  Their communication is awful and both are keeping big secrets from each other.  They both bugged me.  Each page was a struggle for me, and I realized I didn’t care what happened.  I put it down and haven’t picked it up again.

“Love Lucy” by Lucille Ball.  I loved the preface written by her daughter, Lucie Arnaz, how they found the book and what it meant to her and family to have Lucy’s perspective.  I did start the book and have gone from her birth through early adulthood.  I think once I’m out of my slump, I’ll be able to finish this quickly.

“The Casual Vacancy” by JK Rowling. (I’m about a chapter and a half in.)  I’m not crazy about some of her language (she’s on par with Stephen King for using the F word), and I feel like I’m going to need a graph or flow chart to keep up with all the characters.  I will finish this book, but when?

.

After attending the Southern Festival of Books last weekend, I have a long list of books to pick up and read.  The couple I’m most excited about are:

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

A Hundred Flowers – Gail Tuskiyama

The Great Unexpected – Sharon Creech

Leave a Reply

