Bookish

Standard

Sometime around Christmas the Reading Bug bit me hard and left me with a voracious appetite.  All I really want to do right now is read and cook.  Who needs a clean bathroom anyway?

WeirdSistersUSPaperbackThe Weird Sisters – Eleanor Brown

My sister and I came across this book together and giggled about the title.  A few months later I picked it up and really enjoyed it. Three sisters fighting the roles each has been given/taken on in their family.  Each sister bringing some sort of drama or problem to the table.  Each one trying to work out a solution without making it worse on the family.

This book gave me the feeling of sitting invisible within a family while all their junk is just happening.  An open window to family life, dysfunction and all.  I would highly recommend it.

.

.

Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’Easter – Lisa Pattonwhistlin dixie

This book was written by a local (to me) author, and I’ve been meaning to read it for about 2 years.  An impossible situation, a cast of crazy characters and one southern girl trying to keep it all together.  This is a great and fun read!

Lisa Patton has written a sequel titled Yankee Doodle Dixie, I’ll be adding this to my reading list.

.

.

.

.

her-fearful-symmetryHer Fearful Symmetry – Audrey Niffenegger

I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I wanted to love Her Fearful Symmetry, but I didn’t.

Estranged twin sisters.  A big family secret.  A ghost story.  A love story.

A lot going on.

I’m all for an unexpected ending.  Or a main character you just love to hate.  But when I finished “Symmetry”, I was mad.  I wanted the time back I had used reading this book.

.

.

.

The Leftovers – Tom Perrottathe leftovers

I haven’t read anything by Mr. Perrotta before, but I had heard a lot about The Leftovers last year and wanted to read it.

A story about the Rapture and the “leftover” people.

Great character development, interesting ideas on what might happen to those leftover, and a couple of good twists in the story.  But like “Symmetry”, I hated the ending.  I was expecting/wanting a little bit of redemption, a little bit of hope and was left with none.

.

.

.

.

Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling

harrypottersetbest

A movie can never give you all the details a writer includes in a book.  If you’re a fan of the movies and somehow haven’t read the books – DO SO NOW.

Leave a Reply

