Hungry

Standard

Santa Maria Magdalena Cemetery, Close-up view of praying angel statue

.

My mentee and I are reading a book right now about God-Sized Dreams.  One of the chapters talks about characteristics of God-Sized dreamers: faithful where they are, keep their hearts open, embrace enough, encourage others, etc.  One of the lines I underlined in this chapter said: You’re feeding someone today.  Who is the hungry heart in your life?  These few words gave me pause thinking of all the hungry hearts I know.

I decided to write a list.  Students I work with, friends, family, acquaintances, anyone I could think of.  For each person I wrote “K is hungry for _______”; “G is hungry for ______”; M is hungry for ______”.

Hungry for true friendship

Hungry for physical healing

Hungry for adventure

Hungry for peace

It was an eye opening exercise; so many hurts, but just as many joys.  Then the question comes: “What can I do?”

Nothing

I cannot solve the hurts; I cannot deepen the joys.  I can do nothing.

Thankfully I believe in a God who can.  I believe in a God who loves to bring healing and create stories of redemption.  I believe in a God who loves to deepen our joy and give good things.  I believe in a God who can.

And He gently reminds me of my role to help with the hurts and the joys.  Pray.

Spend time in prayer bringing these needs before Him.  Pray peace over the broken hearted.  Pray healing over those battling sickness.  Pray thanksgiving over new adventures.  Pray.  Pray.  Pray.

What is your heart hungry for today?  Share your hunger with someone.  Ask for prayer or help.

Who is the hungry heart in your life?  Offer prayer, give encouragement, be love.

***

ps – Does anyone else think the word ‘mentee’ is weird?

pps – The book we’re reading is You’re Made for a God-Sized Dream by Holley Gerth

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Kathy! Have you read “Bread and Wine” by Shauna Niequist? This post makes me think of a chapter called “Hungry,” which I thought was really a standout. I love your simple joy pictures, too. I’m learning to celebrate all the little, simple things in life, to make room for beauty. I’m looking forward to meeting you at Renew and Refine!

    • I have read Bread & Wine! And I wish I could say I had that thought in my head when I wrote this yesterday.
      I love finding small things to celebrate, and want to be more consistent in posting these each week. I pray you do find room for joy and beauty in life.
      Looking forward to meeting you too!

Leave a Reply

